Himalayan Village Education Trust (HiVE)

buzzzzzzzz………!!

What a gift…!!

Posted by Himalayan Village Education Trust on February 22, 2010

Today I received a phone call early in the morning… “Good Morning Sir.” “Good Morning. Who’s speaking” I asked. “Sir it is Pooja from Chalang village.. I had asked you three months back if I could join your computer course.. when are you starting the centre again?”

I was amazed, because this girl is not very educated (hardly eighth pass) and going by the standard of education prevailing here, I would not have thought she would be very up to it. More than that I had never thought myself to be a great teacher but this girl had given me hope and it was not only her but four more students from our tailoring schools who were willing to undergo my strict curriculum for the sake of learning. And even more amazing was the fact that their parents were willing to buy computers and this is in a place which still is quite distant from the nearest town or bus service.

Time and again I have thought of shutting down my computer section, dejected by the state of education here, but every time it is students like these who pop up and have made me continue…

All I can do is to look up at the sky and say “Thank you for renewing my faith”!!

Leave a Reply

 
